Skip to main content

Documentation

Understanding permissions

Permissions on a dataset or project can be set when the resource is created. If an organization is set as the owner, then permission options are:

  • No one

  • Everyone in the organization (all members get view permissions on the resource)

  • Public to the data.world community

New_dataset_permissions_org.png

Note

One safeguard against users accidentally publishing enterprise data out to the wider community is our standard enterprise team publication configuration: By default Create public datasets is turned off for Enterprise customers.

Owners of datasets and projects can invite specific users and user groups to contribute, or approve incoming requests from users who want to contribute. Either way, the owner controls what each contributor can do by granting them following permissions.

  • Discover

  • View

  • Edit

  • Manage

For details about these permissions, see Planning user groups and their access levels