Documentation

About user groups

User groups are a collection of users that share similar functions or roles in an organization. Groups make it much easier to manage members and their access requirements.

For example, create a group of users who only need access to datasets and projects and another group of users who have access to catalog resources. Any new user who gets added to the organization can then be added to these groups and they automatically get access to the resources that the group is authorized to access.

groups.png

Important

Note that user groups are not discoverable outside of an organization. When users outside the organizations want to share resources with an organization, they can share the resources with the organization or with specific users in the organization, but they cannot share them with user groups in the organization.

Out-of-the-box groups

Three standard user groups are automatically created in each organization. The system allows changing access level of the All Members user group only and does not allow deleting the out-of-the-box groups. You can always add and remove users from these groups.

If the out-of the-box user groups access levels work for you, you can just add users to these groups and start using the application. Create custom groups for configuring custom access levels to resources.

  • All members: Every member of the organization is automatically added to this group. By default, this group of users does not have access to view any catalog resources or datasets and projects. They can only access datasets and projects that are shared with the organization or are set as Discoverable. The access level of this group can be adjust to align with your business needs.

    Important

    Removing a member from the All members group is the same as removing the member from the organization.

    Caution should be used while setting the access levels of the All members group as every new member of the organization automatically gets the access assigned to this group.

    user_group_all_members.png
  • Authors: Users in this group are automatically authorized to add new projects and datasets and new catalog resources in the organization. The access level of this group cannot be changed.

    group_author.png
  • Organization admins: This is a group of users who have manage access to all datasets, projects, and catalog resources in the organization and they can manage organization settings, billing, and member groups. You should add selective users in this group.

    Important

    There must always be at least one member in this group.

    The access level of this group cannot be changed.

    group_org_admin.png
Upgrading organizations

When the system updates to start using user groups, your existing users are automatically added to the appropriate user groups and you can seamlessly continue to use the system.

Table 1. Mapping of roles to new user groups

Users with

Get automatically added to

Basic member role in organizations

All members group

Content creator role in organizations

Authors group

Admin role in organizations

Organization admins group