About the Snowflake writeback automation
Important
This automation is available only for customers that have purchased the Data Governance Premium tier.
This Premium Snowflake Writeback automation lets you sync curated and approved descriptions from your data.world catalog directly back to Snowflake as comments. Update descriptions at the database, schema, table, or column level in data.world and push them all to Snowflake with a single click.
Important things to know
What information is written back to Snowflake?
Only description/comments added to Snowflake resouces, such as, database, schema, table, or column, are written back to Snowflake.
Can I publish these changes automatically to Snowflake?
No. After making the changes, users must click the Publish Metadata to Snowflake button to sync the changes with their Snowflake instance.
How quickly do changes sync to Snowflake?
Changes usually sync to Snowflake immediately upon refreshing. Sometimes, the sync can take up to 15 minutes.
What is the Source of Truth for descriptions/comments?
When you enable Snowflake automation, data.world becomes the Source of Truth for descriptions and comments. By setting up this automation, you accept that all metadata updates must happen in data.world.
If you edit descriptions/comments directly in Snowflake, those changes will be overwritten the next time data.world syncs. To avoid losing work, maintain all metadata updates in data.world only.
Can I setup multiple instances of Snowflake tag application and sync automations?
No, only one Snowflake automation should be set up per organization.